Baking Bread From Scratch

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hello again readers,

I’m back after a long delay. I had to revise my text here at WordPress for policy purposes, so I have not forgotten about you all. 🙂 Be sure to check out my website listed in my profile for that, and links to my other blog will be provided.

Moving along…. [hehe] I LOVE to cook and bake and plant when I can on my free time.  I baked this in March I believe, and don’t quite recall the exact measurements I used so bare with me here lol. The ingredients are pretty basic and simple. Reminds me of Amish bread in a way.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of All Purpose Flour
  • 1 cup of warm water
  • 1/3 cup White Sugar
  • 2 -1/4 tsp of Active Dry Yeast
  • 3/4 tsp of Salt
  • 2 tbsp of Vegetable oil (I heard coconut oil works as a great preservative instead)

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl ( I love using the stainless steel, I can manipulate the dough better for some odd reason) dissolve the sugar in warm water.  Then add and stir in the yeast. Allow the yeast to sit about 15 minutes or until it produces a creamy foam.
  2. Add the salt and oil to the yeast. Mix the flour into the bowl 1 cup at a time.  Knead the dough onto a lightly floured surface until it’s smooth and no longer sticking to your hands or the surface, but still flexible-not stiff. Place in a well oiled bowl turning it to coat the dough. Cover with plastic wrap or a damp hand towel and let sit for about an hour to double in size.
  3. Punch the dough down to remove the air pockets and continue kneading it down for a few minutes and divide in half based on how many loaves you’d like to make and if you’ve added to the ingredients measurements. Place into two well oiled 9 x 5 inch loaf pans (I didn’t have one so I simply molded the dough and placed it in the oven as is hehe) Let it rise for about 30 minutes until it’s risen an inch above the pans.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, and you’re done! 🙂

I hope this has been of some kind of help to someone out there trying to make homemade sweet buttery bread (coat the tops of the bread with REAL butter and yum!) I’ve tried butter and jam with my bread it’s delicious! My bread lasted about a week or so.  Make sure to wrap it up in plastic wrap, I stored it in the fridge to try and preserve it longer but I suppose you can leave it out in like a bread container as well. Maybe I’ll try making wheat bread next yummy! Provided are a few pictures I’ve decided to share with you all to show how mine turned out for the first time in a long time since my Amish bread last year or so…

Until next time 😉

-Jumblez

Copyright © 2012, TipsforZip. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

